Submit Event Submit Announcement Submit Story Idea


Dr. Sarah Terry receives 2018 Vulcan Materials Company Teaching Excellence Award

Dr. Sarah Terry, associate professor of English, received the 2018 Vulcan Materials Company Teaching Excellence Award at Oglethorpe University’s commencement ceremony on May 12. Established in 1991, the Vulcan Teaching Excellence Awards honor an outstanding professor on selected member campuses of the Georgia Independent College Association. The annual award is presented to a member of the […]

Congratulations to the 2018 Honors and Awards Recipients!

The annual Honors and Awards Convocation celebrates the academic and leadership contributions of students, faculty and staff throughout the academic year. Congratulations to the 2018 honorees! VALINE MUSIC PRIZE – Alex Wilson INSTRUMENTALIST OF THE YEAR – Max Wagner UNIVERSITY SINGER OF THE YEAR – Yasmin Anderson UNIVERSITY SINGER OF THE YEAR – Jake Van […]

Oglethorpe communications earns two awards

Oglethorpe prospective student communications and advertising was awarded two 2018 Educational Advertising Awards, a national competition recognizing the field of educational marketing and advertising. Earning awards were the Oglethorpe University Viewbook, a Merit Award in Student Viewbook, and This is Your Story, a Bronze Award in Search Pieces. Judges for the Educational Advertising Awards consisted of a […]

Dr. Kate Keib selected for curriculum innovation bootcamp

Dr. Kate Keib, assistant professor of communication studies, is among only 20 scholars nationwide selected into the first cohort of PhDigital Bootcamp that will explore the emerging role of the digital scholar-educator. Hosted by Texas State’s School of Journalism and Mass Communication this summer, the bootcamp will prepare mass communication doctoral students and early career assistant professors […]

Oglethorpe picks up two Collegiate Advertising Awards

In February 2018, Oglethorpe’s University Communications department received two honors from the Collegiate Advertising Awards, an elite program recognizing higher education organizations for excellence in communications, marketing, advertising and promotions of their schools. Oglethorpe’s Adult Degree Program received a Gold Award, judged to be in the top 5% of entries, for Website Design. Receiving a Silver Award, […]

Business program earns Oglethorpe national recognition from Colleges of Distinction

A growing business program has earned Oglethorpe further recognition among the nation’s 2017-2018 Colleges of Distinction, a national guide to colleges that highlights innovative learning opportunities at top schools. To be designated a “college of distinction,” a school’s curriculum must emphasize such core competencies as critical thinking, writing, oral skills, research, and global perspectives. They must […]

Brazil bestows top civilian honor on Oglethorpe alumnus and trustee

Alumnus bestowed civic award In early 2017, alumnus and trustee Cemal Özgörkey ’84 was named to the Order of Rio Branco by the Government of Brazil as a civil servant and honorary consul. A citizen of Turkey, Özgörkey was formally inducted during an October 17 ceremony in Istanbul, where he was presented with the Rio Branco Medal. Özgörkey […]

Omicron Delta Kappa taps new members

Congratulations to these 17 members of the Oglethorpe University community, tapped this week to be inducted into the national leadership honor society Omicron Delta Kappa: Delaney Abood Yasmin Anderson Madison Blazer Caroline Chamberlain Robert Dougherty-Bliss Haley Evans Brad Firchow Evan Furst Ben Hopper Celina Kassam Dr. Peter Kower Brianne NaLampoon Arman Niknafs Jim Owen Dr. […]