Submit Event Submit Announcement Submit Story Idea


Honors students overcome pandemic challenges to complete theses (video)

Oglethorpe University’s graduating honors students — the largest group in recent history — have successfully completed and presented their honors theses, despite the many obstacles presented by the COVID-19 pandemic. Oglethorpe’s Honors Program gives students the opportunity to further challenge themselves in the classroom and beyond. By converting courses into honors courses, students participate in […]

Economics students selected for Atlanta Federal Reserve internships

Oglethorpe students Alex Blecker ’23 and Parrish Studebaker ’22 have been selected to intern at the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta, continuing the university’s legacy of interns at the institution. As panel coordinators in the Research Department, the two students will connect the Atlanta Federal Reserve to businesses in the region and work with them […]

Video: 2021 Honors and Awards celebrate excellence in academics and leadership

Oglethorpe’s annual Honors and Awards Ceremony celebrates the academic and leadership contributions of students, faculty, and staff throughout the academic year. This year’s celebration took place virtually on the Oglethorpe University Facebook page on April 22. Congratulations to the 2021 honorees! Instrumentalist of the Year Award in memory of Jack Strouss, Jr. ’51 – Walter Kuntz […]

High Museum’s women photographers exhibit includes Oglethorpe professor

Professor Christina Price Washington is among the artists featured in a new High Museum exhibition, “Underexposed: Women Photographers in the Collection,” on view April 17 – August 1, 2021. The exhibition marks the centennial of the 19th Amendment and showcases more than 100 women photographers in the High’s permanent collection. The selected works reflect women […]

Senior golfer named NCAA advocate for student-athletes nationwide

Tyler Rover ’21 will represent student-athletes across the country in his new role as a national primary representative for the NCAA Division III Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC). Rover is among just a few individuals nationwide selected for this role, which he will hold through January 2023. The SAAC represents the voice and interests of student-athletes […]

“The Year of the Woman”: Recognizing female leaders & innovators in 1935

Oglethorpe University President Thornwell Jacobs was a driving force of innovation during his three-decade tenure. Under his leadership, the then-fledgling university launched initiatives that would bring international acclaim to Oglethorpe: the Crypt of Civilization, re-discovering the tomb of James and Elizabeth Oglethorpe in England, and The Year of the Woman. It was 1935—just 15 years […]

Omicron Delta Kappa leadership honor society taps new members

Oglethorpe University’s Omicron Delta Kappa Circle has tapped 11 new members into the highly selective national leadership honor society: Justin Bennett ’22 Caroline Bond ’21 Nick Breitfeller ’22 Natasha Byrd, associate director of residence life Vivian Manso ’21 Bess Moore ’22 Malisa Reichard ’21 Taylor Roberts ’21 Erin Sherrill, director of career development Dr. Robert […]

Prominent Atlanta LGBTQ+ activist will headline spring Core Lecture

This spring, Atlanta activist Feroza Syed will present both a campus-wide lecture and a more intimate, student advocacy conversation as part of Oglethorpe’s CORE lecture series. Both will cover topics of LGBTQ+ issues, intersectionality and social justice. Syed has been heavily involved in LGBTQ+ advocacy in the Atlanta area. After coming out in a viral facebook […]

Hearst Hall’s namesake an early advocate for women

When Oglethorpe moved to its present location in Atlanta in 1915, what is now Hearst Hall became the first building on campus. While businessman and publisher William Randolph Hearst was a generous donor to the university, Hearst Hall is actually named in honor of his mother, Phoebe Apperson Hearst. Once a schoolteacher, Hearst was an […]