Submit Event Submit Announcement Submit Story Idea


Why we still need humanities in a STEM-focused world

As I was growing up in rural Northwest Georgia, I wasn’t quite sure what I wanted to be, but I knew what I loved — to make music, write, read, paint, and learn about other cultures. An eternal jack of all trades, I didn’t know at the time that I was actually a burgeoning humanities […]

Oglethorpe selects Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs

Following a national search, Oglethorpe University President Nick Ladany has named Dr. Kathryn McClymond as Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, starting July 19. Dr. McClymond is currently Associate Dean of Faculty Affairs in the College of Arts & Sciences at Georgia State University, where she has been a faculty member for 22 years. […]

Oglethorpe selects inaugural Dean of Student Success

Oglethorpe University has named Brad Blitz as the inaugural Dean of Student Success, effective June 14. In this new role, Blitz will provide vision and leadership to create a comprehensive advising model and strategy for student success that supports academic progress, retention, and degree completion. Blitz has spent his academic career focused on advising strategy, […]

Congratulations, Class of 2020 and 2021!

Last weekend, Oglethorpe University hosted commencement ceremonies for both the Class of 2020 and the Class of 2021. This two-day celebration of OU graduates marked the biggest in-person events hosted by the university in over a year. Both days were graced with clear skies as hundreds of graduates returned to campus to partake in these […]

Students selected for the 2021-2022 Honor Council

Oglethorpe University Honor Council Secretary Dr. Michael Rulison has announced the students who will serve on the 2021-2022 Honor Council. The Honor Council consists of student representatives from each of Oglethorpe’s academic programs, as well as faculty representatives and a secretary, who is a tenured senior faculty member. Students named to the Honor Council are selected by […]