Annual awards honor outstanding seniors and faculty

Every year as part of commencement, three awards are presented to exceptional students in the graduating class, and two awards recognize faculty for teaching excellence. Congratulations to this year’s honorees!

Erin Raquel Battaglia ’20

Syeda Bano ’20

Syeda Bano ’20, a Politics and Sociology double major, and Erin Raquel Battaglia ’20, a Psychology major, received the esteemed James Edward Oglethorpe Awards. This award is presented annually to two individuals in the graduating class who, in the opinion of the faculty, have excelled in scholarship, leadership and character.

Zoe Nelson ’20

Mathematics major Zoe Nelson ’20 earned the 2020 Sally Hull Weltner Award for Scholarship, which recognizes the student in the graduating class who has attained the highest grade-point average with the greatest number of hours in course work completed at the university. This award is given annually in loving memory of Sally Hull Weltner, wife of Dr. Philip Weltner, who was president of Oglethorpe University from 1944-1953.

Dr. J. Lynn Gieger

Dr. J. Lynn Gieger, professor of mathematics, is the 2020 recipient of the Vulcan Materials Company and Oglethorpe University Teaching Excellence Award. Established in 1991, the “Vulcan Teaching Excellence Awards” annually honor an outstanding professor on selected member campuses of the Georgia Independent College Association. The award is presented to a member of the faculty in recognition of excellence in teaching, commitment to student success, and leadership to enhance campus community. Dr. Gieger joined the Oglethorpe faculty in 2002 and is Division Chair for Mathematics and Computer Science. She earned her B.S. at Millsaps College; M.A. and M.A.T. at Duke University; and PhD at University of Georgia.

Dr. Earl Howell

Dr. Earl Howell, assistant professor of business administration, is the 2020 recipient The Lu Thomasson Garrett Award for Meritorious Teaching. This award was established in 1994 through the generosity of Mr. and Mrs. David (Lu Thomasson) Garrett. The late Mrs. Garrett was a 1952 Oglethorpe graduate, an honorary degree recipient, and member emerita of the Board of Trustees. The prize is awarded annually to an outstanding faculty member selected by a committee of his or her peers.  Dr. Howell joined the faculty in 2014 and has his BA and MBA from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and his DBA from Kennesaw State University. Dr. Howell served 30 years of combined active and reserve service with the U.S. Army, and is a graduate of the United States Army War College.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email