Photos: Honors and Awards Ceremony celebrates excellence in academics and leadership

2023 Honors and Awards Ceremony

Congratulations to the students, faculty and staff recognized at Oglethorpe University’s 2023 Honors and Awards Ceremony, held in Lupton Auditorium on April 27. This annual event celebrates academic excellence and leadership contributions throughout the academic year.

This year’s honorees are:

Leadership Learning Award – Josue Acosta
Adult Degree Program Student Award – Mike Markey 
Charles M. MacConnell Award – Sharon Olubajo
Dean’s Award for Outstanding Achievement by a Student Organization – Muslim Student Association
Donald C. Agnew Award – Peter Dye
Fall 2022 Dean’s List Recipient Recognition – View the list of students
Hetherington Shropshire Award – Morgan Nichol
Instrumentalist of the Year Award in memory of Jack Strouss, Jr. ‘51 – Conor Neuser
J. Frederick Agel, Sr. ’52  Endowed Scholarship – Kaitlyn Bassett
J. Frederick Agel, Sr. ’52  Endowed Scholarship – Elijah Blige
Keith Baker Endowed Award – Mitzi Manzo Silva and Elvis Macedo
Leo Bilancio Award – Maggie Inman
Margaret Floy Washburn Award – Kharynton Beggs
Mary Whiton Calkins Award – J.T. Jones
Oglethorpe University Singer of the Year – Maggie Inman
Omicron Delta Kappa Emerging Leadership Award – Mekela Iorio
Omicron Delta Kappa Outstanding Faculty Member Award – Dr. Peter Kower
Omicron Delta Kappa Outstanding Leadership Award – Ashrakat Hassan
Omicron Delta Kappa Outstanding Staff Member Award – Kendra Murphy
Outstanding Art History Major – Madeline Turner
Outstanding ADP Senior Business Major – Nadine Huff
Outstanding ADP Senior in Communication Studies – Lilian Alvarado
Outstanding Improvement in French Studies – Kenna Tinc
Outstanding Senior Economics Major – Alex Blecker
Outstanding Senior HRM Major – Collin Sides
Outstanding Senior in Biopsychology – Caidyn Ellis and Alexa Tringali
Outstanding Senior in English – Caitlyn (Caity) Tillett
Outstanding Student in Politics – Alex Blecker
Outstanding Senior in Studio Art – Brenna Alford
Outstanding TU Senior in Communication Studies – Andrea Kezh and Zuri Johnson
Outstanding TU Business Major – Kristana Quinnan
Outstanding TU Business Major – Colby James
Rich Foundation Urban Leader in Action Award – Jada Thomas
Sidney Lanier Prize for Poetry – Nia Mahmud
Student Government Association Community Appreciation Award – Kendra Murphy
The LeConte Award – Olivia Herrera 
Anne Rivers Siddons Prize for Short Fiction – Josh Lambie
Core Instructor Award – Dr. Lanier Basenberg (2022) and Dr. Jaclyn McWhorter (2023)
Core Teaching Award – Dr. Robert Hornback (2022) and Dr. Iona Wynter Parks (2023)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email