Kharynton Beggs ’23 wins Buckhead Rotary Foundation’s Otis M. Jackson Scholarship

Oglethorpe University sophomore Kharynton Beggs ’23 has been awarded the 2021 Otis M. Jackson Scholarship from the Buckhead Rotary Foundation.

The merit-based scholarship is offered annually to eligible Oglethorpe students. Scholarship recipients must clearly demonstrate character, leadership, academic achievement, and athletic ability — the qualities and character traits associated with the late Otis M. Jackson ’24.

Awarded over two academic years, the scholarship is designated for educational purposes while at Oglethorpe, including tuition, room and board, and personal expenses.

Beggs, a psychology major and business minor from Mt. Washington, MD, is a member of the women’s golf team, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, and President’s Emerging Leadership. She also works in the Development office and serves as an Admission student ambassador.

Off campus, she has volunteered at the Lowcountry Food Bank and the First Tee of Greater Atlanta mentoring children through golf.  She has also interned for two years with The Social Institute, which provides an online learning platform to help empower students to positively navigate their social world.

Beggs was selected by the Otis Jackson Scholarship Committee members: Catherine Land Waters, president of the Buckhead Rotary Foundation; Beth Concepción, chair of the Otis M. Jackson Scholarship Committee and Oglethorpe Rotaract co-advisor; Mark Meltzer, Buckhead Rotary member and Oglethorpe Rotaract co-advisor; Chris Summers, director of financial aid; Daniel Ocampo, the 2020 Jackson Scholarship recipient; and Saron Araya, the 2019 Jackson Scholarship recipient.

Otis M. Jackson was a member of the Rotary Club of Buckhead and salutatorian of the OU Class of 1924. An outstanding athlete and captain of the basketball team, Jackson was a leader on campus and subsequently elected to the Oglethorpe Athletic Hall of Fame.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email