Video: 2021 Honors and Awards celebrate excellence in academics and leadership

Oglethorpe’s annual Honors and Awards Ceremony celebrates the academic and leadership contributions of students, faculty, and staff throughout the academic year. This year’s celebration took place virtually on the Oglethorpe University Facebook page on April 22.

Congratulations to the 2021 honorees!

Instrumentalist of the Year Award in memory of Jack Strouss, Jr. ’51 – Walter Kuntz
Oglethorpe University Singer of the Year – Mohammad Asim Javed
Core Teaching Award – Dr. Mariel Meier
Core Instructor Award – Dr. Lejla Ibrahimbegovic
Leo Bilancio Award – Nyree Dowdy and Megan Houston
The LeConte Award – Taylor Turner
Rich Foundation Urban Leader in Action Award – Andrea Kezh
Margaret Floy Washburn Award – Cinthya Vazquez
Mary Whiton Calkins Award – Natalie Ghani
Outstanding Senior in Communication Studies – Doris Gonzalez
Outstanding Traditional Undergraduate Senior Business Major – Noah Wilder
Outstanding Adult Degree Program Senior Business Major – Eugenie Viener
Outstanding Senior in Sociology – Clara Grimaldo and Christina Mitchell
Outstanding Senior Human Resource Management Major – Courtland Davis
Outstanding Senior in English – Milo McGehee
Outstanding Senior in Biopsychology – Sydney Arthur
Outstanding Senior in Politics – Addison Furst
Outstanding Economics Major – Fatima Boumahdi
Hetherington Shropshire Award – Andrew Luzzatti and Oyinlola Oyinloye
Anne Rivers Siddons Prize for Short Fiction – Sophia Summerlin
Sidney Lanier Prize for Poetry – Ivy Jones
Outstanding Improvement in French Studies – Mary Neja
Ronald Carlisle Prize in Mathematics and Computer Science – Rebecca Bryant
J. Frederick Agel, Sr. ’52 Endowed Scholarship – Justin Bennett
J. Frederick Agel, Sr. ’52 Endowed Scholarship – Courtland Davis
Compass Student of the Year (First-year) – Amina Sahovic
Compass Student of the Year (Transfer) – Michael Morgan
Compass Advisor of the Year (Faculty) – Dr. Jay Lutz
Compass Advisor of the Year (Staff) – Jessica Winestock
Adult Degree Program Student Award – Mazani Rosier
A_LAB Award – Justin Bennett
Omicron Delta Kappa Emerging Leadership Award – Andrea Kezh
Omicron Delta Kappa Outstanding Leadership Award – Kiana Perkins
Omicron Delta Kappa Outstanding Staff Member Award – Sarah Rodgers
Omicron Delta Kappa Outstanding Faculty Member Award – Dr. Wanda Yang Temko
Spirit of Alpha Phi Omega (Faculty) – Dr. Iona Wynter Parks
Spirit of Alpha Phi Omega (Staff) – Dr. Natasha Byrd
Spirit of Alpha Phi Omega – Oyinlola Oyinloye
Charles M. MacConnell Award – Vivian Manso
Donald C. Agnew Award – Taylor Roberts
Student Government Association Community Appreciation Award – Dr. Natasha Byrd
Keith Baker Endowed Award – Will Arnold
Dean’s Award for Outstanding Achievement by a Student Organization – The Sophomore Class
The Mary Mildred Sullivan Award – Clara Grimaldo
The Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award – David Swillum

The Sullivan Awards are one of Oglethorpe’s top honors given to two graduating seniors annually. For more than 125 years, the Sullivan Awards have honored those who put service above self. That spirit was the driving force in the lives of the Sullivans, and the awards recognize those who keep that spirit alive today. Sullivan Awards are highly prized and have been won by people whose lives of service have changed the world with little fanfare, as well as those who have become household names. Recipients include First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt, television icon Fred Rogers, and Supreme Court Justice Lewis Powell.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email