Convocation 2023 celebrates academic potential and promise

“There are about 400 new Oglethorpe University students in this room. What if this group of 400 young adults decided to change the world together? Imagine what you could do,” posited Interim President Dr. Kathryn McClymond at Friday’s convocation.

“Just imagine what the legacy of the Class of 2027 could be if you joined forces.”

A yearly ceremony to officially welcome the new class of Petrels, Convocation also includes the signing of Oglethorpe University’s Honor Code — the academic responsibilities that students accept by becoming members of the Oglethorpe community and the procedures they will follow should that commitment to honesty be questioned. Every student signs this code.

Speakers at this year’s Convocation included Interim President Dr. Kathryn McClymond, Student Government Association President Ashleigh Ewald ’25, Professor of Mathematics and Honor Council Secretary Dr. Lynn Gieger and Interim Provost Dr. Kendra King Momon

Convocation is a celebration of Petrel Pride. The Oglethorpe University Singers, conducted by Visiting Assistant Professor of Music Dr. Tom FitzStephens, led new students in singing Oglethorpe’s alma mater and fight song.

See photos from Convocation below:

Convocation 2023

Print Friendly, PDF & Email