2023 Alumni Award winners, Athletics Hall of Fame inductees announced

The Alumni Association of Oglethorpe University is proud to announce the Alumni Award honorees and Hall of Fame inductees for 2023.

Throughout each year, members of the OU community submit nominations for four prestigious alumni awards. The Awards and Recognition Committee of the Alumni Board of Directors evaluates all nominations and makes their final selections during their winter board meeting. Former student-athletes eligible for induction are selected by the OU Athletic Hall of Fame Committee made up of staff, coaches and Hall of Fame alumni.

Award recipients for this year will be formally recognized and celebrated at the annual Alumni Awards, Athletics Hall of Fame and Golden Petrel Induction Ceremony on April 21 during Alumni Weekend.

Congratulations to these extraordinary Alumni Award honorees who continue to make an impact and leave their legacy on campus:

Talmage Award, James Hartlage ’65

The Talmage Award is given to an individual who contributes time, talent or financial resources to one or more programs of the university and/or is distinguished in the business, philanthropic or professional world.

Carillon Award, Stephanie Szalkowski ’89

Formerly the School Bell Award, the Carillon Award recognizes a member of our alumni network, or past or present faculty member, who has made lasting contributions in education, civic engagement, or innovation.

Belle Turner Lynch ’61 Spirit of Oglethorpe Award, Mark DeLong ’03

The recipient of the Belle Turner Lynch ’61 Spirit of Oglethorpe Award is an alumni member who lives by the Oglethorpe motto: Make a life. Make a living. Make a difference, and demonstrates the attributes of a liberal arts education by exhibiting creativity, purposefulness, and a commitment to improving the quality of their community.

O.K. Sheffield ’53 Young Alumnus Award, Edmund Smith ’15

The O.K. Sheffield ’53 Young Alumnus Award recognizes a graduate of the last 10 years who has shown leadership and inspired other young alumni through participation in career, public service, volunteer, or continuing education activities.

Congratulations to the following former student-athletes who will be recognized for their athletic excellence and inducted into the OU Athletics Hall of Fame:

Brendan Pilger ’10, baseball

Scott Pugh ’11, men’s golf

Todd Ward ’11, men’s basketball

Nathan Briesemeister ’94, men’s track and field

Tina Grace ’09, women’s basketball

Biz Richmann Leonard ’09, women’s basketball           

1997-98 men’s golf team — Tolliver Williams ’99, Peter Lundin ’00, Hal Robinson ’98, Rob Rawson ’98, Ben Hanes ’98, Jeff Ashmore ’01, Jonathan Milford ’00, Brent Bell ’00, Mike Deckert ’97, Riaz Batlivala ’01

During this special event, alumni from the class of 1973 will also be inducted into the Golden Petrel Society as we celebrate their 50th class reunion.

All alumni have been invited to “Come Back Home” for Alumni Weekend which includes this event and others. Guests are welcome to attend the Alumni Awards, Athletics Hall of Fame and Golden Petrel Induction Ceremony for $25 per person. Space is limited, so advance registration is required.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email