Opening Convocation 2022 [Photos]

“We affirm the Honor Code together as a reminder that honor exists largely in relationship to others. You are a member of this community now,” said Provost Kathryn McClymond to the Oglethorpe Class of 2026 at last Friday’s Convocation. “You are not alone…We soar together.”

A yearly ceremony to officially welcome the new class of Petrels, Convocation also includes the signing of Oglethorpe University’s Honor Code — the academic responsibilities students accept by becoming members of the Oglethorpe community and the procedures they will follow should that commitment to honesty be questioned. Every student signs this code.

Speakers at this year’s Convocation included President Nick Ladany, Provost Kathryn McClymond, Student Government Association President Ashrakat Hassan ’24, and Professor of Mathematics and Honor Council Secretary¬†Dr. Lynn Gieger.

Convocation is celebrates Petrel Pride. The Oglethorpe University Singers, conducted by Visiting Assistant Professor of Music Emily Hobson Jenkins, led new students in singing Oglethorpe’s alma mater and fight song.

View Convocation photos:

Opening Convocation 2022

Print Friendly, PDF & Email