2021 Petey Awards honor student-athletes [VIDEO]

Oglethorpe Athletics rounded out the 2020-2021 season on Saturday with the 9th Annual Petey Awards—announced virtually this year.

The event, produced by the Oglethorpe Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), allows Oglethorpe student-athletes to honor the best and brightest performances of the year while reflecting on the athletic year as a whole. This year’s Petey Awards were hosted by recent graduate and student athlete Tyler Rover ’21.

The following awards were presented to some of Oglethorpe’s most hard-working Stormy Petrels:

Men and Women’s Scholarly Petrel Team Award

This award is given to the men’s and women’s team with the highest cumulative grade point average based on total team credit hours.

  • Men’s Scholarly Petrel Team – Golf (3.47)
  • Women’s Scholarly Petrel Team – Cross Country (3.79)

Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year

This award is given to the female and male student-athlete with the highest grade point average over a minimum of 33 Oglethorpe credit hours. The winner must also have played in at least 50 percent of their team’s contests and have been a significant contributor to their team on the field or court.

  • Female Scholar Athlete of the Year – Sarah Hsu ’23, Golf (4.0)
  • Male Scholar Athlete of the Year – Carlos Sone ’22, Basketball (3.99)

2020 Stormiest Petrel

This award is given to the athlete that consistently practiced the traits of leadership, perseverance, and respect both on and off the field. These athletes are seen as the face of what an Oglethorpe student-athlete should be.

SAA Man and Woman of the Year Nominees

This award is given to the male and female student-athlete who best exemplifies the traits of leadership, character, and athletic and academic success. In order to be eligible, a student-athlete must have achieved at least junior academic status, qualified for the SAA Academic Honor Roll during their tenure as a student-athlete, and have earned either first or second-team All-SAA status at some point during their career.

  • SAA Woman of the Year Nominee – Angel Sanchez ’21, Golf

“Angel has been a standout member of the Oglethorpe women’s golf team for the past four years. Her accomplishments are impressive and varied, ranging across both on-field and off-field acclaim. She earned a spot on the All-SAA first team in 2018 and is a three-time member of the SAA Academic Honor Roll (with a potential fourth pending). She has been named a WGCA Scholar All-American over the past four years and has earned spots on seven Dean’s Lists (with an eight pending). She served as team captain in each of the past two season as well. She was named a President’s Emerging Leader in 2018, and has been a recipient of the IME Becas Scholarship, the Henry R. Frieman Endowed Scholarship, the Oglethorpe Presidential Scholarship and the Oglethorpe International Grant. She also served as a member of the Rotaract Club in 2019-20. She earned a WGCA All-Region honors twice in her career.”

  • SAA Man of the Year Nominee – Walker Benson ’21, Tennis

“Walker has been a stalwart both inside and outside the classroom for the Stormy Petrel men’s tennis squad over the past four years. He’s a three-time All-SAA honoree, winning first-team accolade in 2019 and 2021, while taking second-team honors in 2018. He’s also earned spots on the SAA Academic Honor Roll after the 2018 and 2019 seasons (with 2021 still pending), and was named an ITA Scholar-Athlete in each of those years as well. In addition, he’s a four-time Dean’s List honoree. On the court, he led his teams to their first SAA championship this season, and also to a share of their second SAA regular season title. His efforts helped the team to advance to the first NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Championships in program history.”

Conference and National Award Winners

SAA Volleyball Coach of the Year – Anna Braun
SAA Men’s Tennis Coach of the Year – Paul Danielson
SAA Men’s Basketball Player of the Year – Dimetri Chambers ’21
SAA Men’s Golfer of the Year – Kenny Park ’21
SAA Women’s High Jump Champion – Kinsey Wilson ’24

For more information on Oglethorpe Athletics, visit

Print Friendly, PDF & Email