Campus Life

Oglethorpe’s new Collegiate 100 chapter celebrates charter

Oglethorpe University’s Collegiate 100 chapter celebrated its official charter with a pinning ceremony for its members on Sunday, September 20, 2020.

The Collegiate 100 is a campus-based student organization that acts as a responsible, productive and cooperative segment of 100 Black Men of America, Inc. and 100 Black Men of Atlanta, Inc., supporting the mission of improving the quality of life within communities and enhancing educational and economic opportunities for all African Americans.

Collegiate 100 logo on yellow backgroundThe primary purpose of the Collegiate 100 program is to provide mentorship opportunities for college students through the 100 Black Men of America, Inc., which is recognized as the nation’s top African American-led mentoring organization.

Students David Swillum ’21 and Milana Woods ’21 are acting co-presidents of the Oglethorpe chapter of Collegiate 100 and worked tirelessly with several partners to bring a chapter to campus.

“When you have mentors in your life, it makes you more well-rounded,” Swillum said during the ceremony, emphasizing the importance of mentorship through the Collegiate 100.

“I want to thank the Oglethorpe community for supporting us,” Woods said. “We made history today.”

Those who attended the virtual ceremony heard from several speakers, in addition to the student co-presidents of the chapter. Speakers included President of the Emerging 100 Mitchell Robinson, Oglethorpe President Dr. Nicholas Ladany, 100 Black Men of Atlanta Chairman Kevin Gooch, Collegiate 100 Chapter Advisor Dr. Fred Parham, Chair of Chapter Development for 100 Black Men of America Dr. Albenny Price, Collegiate 100 Advisor Paul Larkin and Oglethorpe Associate Director of Academic Success and chapter advisor Cecil Rose.

OU Collegiate 100 Executive Board 2020-2021

David Swillum – Co-President
Milana Woods – Co-President
Justlynn Russell – Secretary
Justin Bennett – Treasurer
Michal Morgan – Membership Chair
Keagen Stromberg – Outreach Chair
Tre Rice – Mentorship Chair
Yemariam Workneh – Event Coordinator
Hailey Bacchus – Social Media Chair

OU Collegiate 100 Members 2020-2021

Feruz Ali
Kaniya Bates
Malik Brown
Trevon Burkhead
Kristoff Dixon
Ivi Dvynne
Maya Inman
Brandon Jackson
Sean Kang
Jordan Madison
Donovan McClean
Tuli Mwarumba
Sydney Payne
William Ransom
Carmen Reaves
Carlton Sims
Caleb Smith

Print Friendly, PDF & Email