Oglethorpe begins academic year with opening convocation

Last Friday, Oglethorpe University hosted its first virtual convocation to kick off the academic year and officially welcome new students to their Oglethorpe journey.

The ceremony included a host of speakers, including President Dr. Nick Ladany, Professor of Mathematics Dr. J. Lynn Gieger, SGA President Taylor Roberts, Provost Dr. Glenn Sharfman, and Honor Council Student Representatives Jimmy Creamer and Talia Weinstein.

Provost Sharfman delivered the keynote address, and spoke to the value of an Oglethorpe education. “The idea of an excellent liberal arts education is to prepare you for the unscripted problems—to make you ready for a world where change is constant, complexity is a reality, and diversity is a given.”

The ceremony also featured a virtual signing of the Honor Code by first year students, as well as performances from the University Singers, led by Director of Choral Activities Dr. Timothy Powell. Members of the Singers, including first-year students and veterans of the program, recorded their performance of the Alma Mater from home.

Watch the recording of the 2020 Opening Convocation above.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email