Video: Petey Awards honor Oglethorpe’s 2019-2020 student-athletes

Oglethorpe Athletics rounded out the 2019-2020 season on Saturday with the 8th Annual Petey Awards—announced virtually this year.

The event, produced by the Oglethorpe Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), allows Oglethorpe student-athletes to honor the best and brightest performances of the year while reflecting on the athletic year as a whole.

The following awards were presented to some of Oglethorpe’s most hard-working Stormy Petrels:

Men and Women’s Scholarly Petrel Team Award

This award is given to the men’s and women’s team with the highest cumulative grade point average based on total team credit hours.

Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year

This award is given to the female and male student-athlete with the highest grade point average over a minimum of 33 Oglethorpe credit hours. The winner must also have played in at least 50 percent of their team’s contests and have been a significant contributor to their team on the field or court.

2020 Stormiest Petrel

This award is given to the male and female that consistently practiced the traits of leadership, perseverance, and respect both on and off the field. These athletes are seen as the face of what an Oglethorpe student-athlete should be.

SAA Man and Woman of the Year Nominees

This award is given to the male and female student-athlete who best exemplifies the traits of leadership, character, and athletic and academic success. In order to be eligible, a student-athlete must have achieved at least junior academic status, qualified for the SAA Academic Honor Roll during their tenure as a student-athlete, and have earned either first or second-team All-SAA status at some point during their career.

“Dre has turned into one of the best players in the history of the Oglethorpe women’s lacrosse program, earning All-SAA honors in each of her three completed seasons. She became the first player in program history to garner All-SAA first-team honors, accomplishing that feat in 2019. She also took All-SAA second-team honors in 2018 and honorable mention after her freshman year of 2017. In addition, Dre is a three-time recipient of the SAA Academic Honor Roll, and earned a spot on the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association Academic Honor Roll in 2019.”

“Andrew has been the backbone of the Oglethorpe midfield for the last four years, turning into potentially the best defensive midfielder in the league over the last two years. Not only has he earned All-SAA honors in each of his four years and first-team accolades in each of the last two, but he’s also earned regional and national recognition. He earned a spot on the United Soccer Coaches All-South Atlantic Region first-team midfield in 2019 and garnered a spot on the second-team list for that award in 2018. He also earned recognition as a member of the Scholar All-America first team from the same organization in 2019 after garnering Scholar All-South Region first-team honors, as well. As a team leader, Andrew led the Stormy Petrels to four straight SAA regular-season titles during his tenure, as well as two NCAA tournament appearances and the 2018 SAA championship.”

The 2020 Petey’s

Though we are sad we cannot be together, we wanted to share a little bit of the Petey’s with you!

For more information on Oglethorpe Athletics, visit

Print Friendly, PDF & Email