Tennis players, women’s team earn ITA academic awards

The Oglethorpe men’s and women’s tennis teams earned a bevy of academic accolades from the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) Thursday. The women’s team earned an ITA All-Academic team award and saw five members named ITA scholar-athletes. Meanwhile, the men’s team put three players on the ITA scholar-athlete list.

On the women’s side, seniors Delaney Abood and Charlotte Disley, juniors Elizabeth Bielicki and Hannah Dattilo, and sophomore Lisette Phillips all earned ITA┬áscholar-athlete recognition. On the men’s side, sophomores Walker Benson and Calvin Schneider did the same along with freshman John Bielicki.

The honor served as the third ITA All-Academic team honor for the women’s side in the last four years. It also marked the fourth career ITA Scholar-Athlete awards for Abood and Disley, and the second for Dattilo. It was the second straight such award for both Benson and Schneider.

The ITA All-Academic team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.2 or above, with all varsity letter winners factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2018 and spring 2019).

In order to earn ITA scholar-athlete status, a player must be a varsity letter winner and have a grade point average of at least 3.5 for the current academic year. They also must have completed at least two semesters at the institution.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email