Photos: 2019 Honors & Awards Ceremony celebrates academic and leadership contributions

2019 Honors & Awards Ceremony

Oglethorpe’s annual Honors and Awards Ceremony celebrates the academic and leadership contributions of students, faculty, and staff throughout the academic year.

Congratulations to the 2019 honorees, who were recognized at the March 25th ceremony:

Valine Music Prize – Samantha Foster
Instrumentalist of the Year Award in memory of Jack Strouss, Jr. ’51 – Max Wagner
Male Oglethorpe University Singer of the Year – Jake Van Valkenburg
Female Oglethorpe University Singer of the Year – Gillian Rabin
Core Teaching Award – Dr. Jay Lutz
Core Instructor Award – Dr. Linda DeCamp
Leo Bilancio Award – Alex Mead
The LeConte Award – Sindy Chavez
Rich Foundation Urban Leader in Action Award – Miracle Jackson
Margaret Floy Washburn Award – Rebecca Highsmith
Mary Whiton Calkins Award – Charlotte Disley
Outstanding Senior in Communication Studies – Gillian Rabin
Outstanding Senior in Communication Studies – Ciara Laughlin
Outstanding Traditional Undergraduate Senior Business Major – Armin Fakhrai
Outstanding Adult Degree Program Senior Business Major – James Myles
Outstanding Senior Human Resource Management Major – Megan Keck
Outstanding Economics Major – Mason Rodericks
Hetherington Shropshire Award – Jacquelyn Hinton
Anne Rivers Siddons Prize for Short Fiction – Kaitlyn Turner
Sidney Lanier Prize for Poetry – Ryan Holtzen
Outstanding Improvement in French Studies – Kirstin Grace Dent
Ronald Carlisle Prize in Mathematics and Computer Science – Robert Dougherty- Bliss
Ronald Carlisle Prize in Mathematics and Computer Science – Agbolade “Patrick” Akande
J. Frederick Agel, Sr. ’52 Endowed Scholarship – Samuel Held
J. Frederick Agel, Sr. ’52 Endowed Scholarship – Linda “McKenzie” Simpson
Compass Student of the Year – Justin Bennett
Compass Student of the Year – Courtney Davis
Adult Degree Program Student Award – Adrian Ranson
A_LAB Award – Deon Heavens
Omicron Delta Kappa Emerging Leadership Award – Talia Weinstein
Omicron Delta Kappa Outstanding Leadership Award – Dylan Harper
Omicron Delta Kappa Outstanding Staff Member Award – Jessica Winestock
Omicron Delta Kappa Outstanding Faculty Member Award – Dr. Matthew Wild
Spirit of Alpha Phi Omega – Deon Heavens
Spirit of Alpha Phi Omega – Dr. John Carton
Spirit of Alpha Phi Omega – Turhan Dantzler
Charles M. MacConnell Award – Arman Niknafs
Donald C. Agnew Award – Dr. John S. Carton
Student Government Association Community Appreciation Award – Turhan Dantzler
Keith Baker Endowed Award – Samuel Held
Dean’s Award for Outstanding Achievement by a Student Organization – Oglethorpe South Asian Club / Yesha Nayee
The Mary Mildred Sullivan Award – Benna Curole
The Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award – Bradley Firchow

Provost Sharfman with Benna Curole, winner of the Mary Mildred Sullivan Award.

The Sullivan Awards are one of Oglethorpe’s top honors given to two graduating seniors annually. For more than 125 years, the Sullivan Awards have honored those who put service above self. That spirit was the driving force in the lives of the Sullivans, and the awards recognize those who keep that spirit alive today.

Provost Glenn Sharfman with Brad Firchow, Algernon Sidney Sullivan Award recipient.

Sullivan Awards are highly prized and have been won by people whose lives of service have changed the world with little fanfare, as well as those who have become household names. Recipients include First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt, television icon Fred Rogers, and Supreme Court Justice Lewis Powell.

Dr. Glenn Sharfman, provost and vice president for academic affairs, also recognized all students who were named to the Fall 2018 Dean’s List:

Oglethorpe University announces fall 2018 Dean’s List

Congratulations to those Oglethorpe students whose academic performance during the 2018 fall semester merited recognition on the Dean’s Academic Honors List! This list celebrates the 364 students who achieved at least a 3.50 term grade-point average, while earning 12 or more semester hours.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email