Tony Award-Nominated Actor Christopher Jackson To Speak at Oglethorpe’s 2018 Commencement

Christopher Jackson

Oglethorpe University’s Commencement Ceremony honoring the graduating Class of 2018 will be held on Saturday, May 12 at 9:00 a.m. on the academic quad.

Speaking at this year’s Commencement will be honorary degree recipient Christopher Jackson, a Tony Award-nominated and Grammy Award-winning actor and an Emmy Award-winning songwriter/composer.

Oglethorpe will present Jackson with the honorary degree of Doctor of Fine Arts, in recognition of his commitment to music, theatre, early childhood education, and autism awareness.

Jackson originated the role of George Washington in the Broadway smash hit “Hamilton: An American Musical,” and currently stars on the CBS television show “Bull.” Jackson also served as a composer and songwriter for the iconic children’s program, “Sesame Street,” winning an Emmy Award for his song for the show with artist Will.I.Am, “What I Am.” He also was the co-music supervisor and writer for the children’s program “The Electric Company.”

Following his son’s autism diagnosis in 2007, Jackson became an Autism Awareness Advocate and along with his wife, Veronica, serves on the National Board of KultureCity, a nonprofit organization that helps provide much needed sensory-inclusive rooms and aids for families and individuals on the autism spectrum.

“Throughout his career and his life, Christopher Jackson has shown a passion for making a social impact and inspiring empathy—both through his craft and through his efforts supporting early childhood education and autism awareness,” said Oglethorpe University President Lawrence M. Schall, J.D., Ed.D. “He shares Oglethorpe’s commitment to ensuring that our next generations succeed and thrive.”

President Schall and Board of Trustees Chair and alumnus Timothy P. Tassopoulos, president and chief operating officer of Chick-fil-A, Inc., will preside over the commencement ceremony for approximately 200 graduates. Other commencement speakers will include student leaders Hannah Gibbs, senior class president, and Anna Gandy, Student Government Association president. Read more…

Further details about the 2018 Commencement Ceremony may be found at

Print Friendly, PDF & Email