Commencement Awards Honor Scholarship, Leadership, Character

During Commencement, three awards are presented to members of the graduating class to recognize excellence in scholarship, leadership and character.

Congratulations to this year’s award recipients!

Katherine Carey and Kelly Jacobson accept the JEO Award.

Katherine Carey ’17, an English and Comparative Literature major, and Kelly Jacobson ’17, a Chemistry and History major, received the esteemed James Edward Oglethorpe Award. This award is presented annually to two individuals in the graduating class who, in the opinion of the faculty, have excelled in scholarship, leadership and character.

Abigail Kreisinger with President Schall.

Abigail Kreisinger ’17, a Studio Art major, was awarded the Sally Hull Weltner Award for Scholarship.┬áThis award is given annually in loving memory of Sally Hull Weltner, wife of Dr. Philip Weltner, who was president of Oglethorpe University from 1944-1953. The award honors the student in the graduating class who has attained the highest grade-point average with the greatest number of hours in course work completed at the university.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email