Oglethorpe honors employees’ excellence and dedication

Dr. Irwin Ray retires this year after 30 years of service.

The annual Employee Recognition Luncheon celebrates the outstanding work and dedication of its employees throughout the year, notable work anniversaries and retirements. Congratulations to this year’s honorees!

The 2016-17 Employee of the Year was awarded to Special Events Manager Joseph Lewis, in perhaps Oglethorpe’s first-ever virtual presentation and acceptance of an award. (See the video below!)

Additional awards were presented to staff members who exhibited exemplary conduct during the past year in specific categories:

Customer Service: Naomi Norris
Teamwork: Cecil Rose
Quality: Cody Teague
Creativity: Lance Knight
Professionalism: Whitney Lewis

This year’s award winners included Cody Teague, “virtual” Joseph Lewis, and Whitney Lewis.

Award winners were selected by the Employee Recognition Committee, comprised of the previous year’s winners.

In addition, the following employees were presented with service awards for significant work anniversaries during 2016-17:

5 years: Alex Richey, Cecil Rose, Dr. Sarah Terry, Brianne Nalampoon, Todd Bennett, Dr. Humayan Kabir, Dr. Brian Patterson, Belinda Jones, Jonathan Nooner

10 years: Esker Ligon, Dr. Karen Schmeichel, Eli Arnold, Lucy Leusch

15 years: Dr. Mario Chandler, Dr. Stephen Herschler

20 years: Dr. Charlie Baube

30 years: Dr. Irwin Ray

Provost Glenn Sharfman also recognized Dr. Keith Aufderheide, who is stepping down after years of service as the liaison to SACS (Southern Association of Colleges and Schools) and returning as a full-time chemistry professor, and University Librarian Anne Salter, who is retiring in summer 2017 after 15 years of service.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email